And That’s a Wrap!

I can’t believe how fast these past weeks have gone by. It still feels like there is more painting to do. I thoroughly enjoyed painting landscapes as my learning project. Even though it is technically “school work” it didn’t feel like it at all. Between working full time, blogging, and having class painting was a nice break where I was able to relax and focus on one task and not the million and one other things.

For my last post, I am going to break down each week of my Learning Project, mentioned some key learning that took place, resources that I learned from, and show an image of each week’s final painting.

Week 1 (Introduction to Painting Landscapes with Acrylic Paint):

  • Provided a current status of where I was at in terms of my prior experiences painting.
  • Focused on what direction I wanted to take my learning in.

Week 2 (Painting Begins! – ‘Smokin  Oakin’):

  • Learned how to paint Oak trees from a YouTube tutorial
  • Practiced in sketchbook before going to a canvas
  • Learned about tones & Highlights found in trees from Mark Waller
  • Learned how to paint grass
  • Followed this tutorial for my ‘painting’ of the week

 

Week 3 (‘Painting Clouds… It’s harder than you think’)

  • Learned the basics of painting clouds from this tutorial
  • Practices three times on the basics on a little canvas first until I felt I was ready to tackle a big canvas.
  • Followed this Youtube Tutorial to show what I had learned about clouds and to see what I could learn about painting a canola field

Week 4 ( ‘Time, Paint, & a Lake’)

  • Followed this YouTube Tutorial
  • Attempted to do my first time-lapse but found out there are a few tricks to getting it right.
  • Learned that creating good art takes time and that it can’t be rushed.
Lukas Vermeer Flickr via Compfight cc

Week 5 (‘Progress with Time-Lapse’)

  • Shared my learning regarding numerous ways to create a time-lapse
  • Some advantages and disadvantages of different programs
  • Provided an example of a time-lapse

 

Week 6 (‘The Night Sky’)

  • Learned from this Youtube tutorial
  • Learned how to paint stars
  • Learned how to make spruce trees look natural with a fan brush

Week 7 (‘The Sea is Calling’)

  • For this week I followed Katie’s YouTube tutorial
  • I learned about how adding multiple layers of paint adds to the overall quality of a painting.
  • I also learned more about her online community of artists through her YouTube channel, Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter.

All in all, I really enjoyed this project and the opportunity it gave me to learn about something I was interested in. For that I am thankful. It was a pleasure to take ECMP355, and to all of my classmates of future ecmp (or related subjects) students keep learning and enjoying it!

4 thoughts on “And That’s a Wrap!

  1. Great way to wrap up your learning project Kaytlyn! I love all of your beautiful paintings! You worked hard at them for sure! I may just do something similar to your post and summarize each week of my own learning. Thanks for the great idea!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

