Summary of Learning

In the blink of an eye, these past two months have flown by, as did our ECMP355 class. While I thoroughly enjoyed this course (and learned lots from it) I find myself at a standstill. I feel like there is still so much to learn! It must be an Ed. Tech class thing! But in all seriousness, I must say ECMP355 was an amazing course that I would definitely recommend because not only did we go over tons of tech. tools to use both in and out of the classroom we also tackled challenging discussion that surrounds educational technology.

Like I mentioned earlier, I learned a lot this semester and how great is it that I get to show off some of what I learned? Needless to say, our final project was to create a digital summary of learning (that either has us or our voice in it). So off to the races I went. I kid you not I probably tried out about thirty different programs/apps before settling on one. I decided to go with the video editor tool

razgriz2520 Flickr via Compfight cc

Filmora (along with a few other tools for voice recording and whatnot).  While this program allows you to create/edit wonderful videos it does a flaw that comes up when you have finished editing your video and are exporting your video. With the free version of Filmora you can export your video to YouTube, Instagram, Facebook, you name it. However, when you export the video it leaves a watermark in the middle of your video. Which, as you can imagine, isn’t ideal. I chose to pay for a year’s subscription only because I had already created/edited my video, but if you had an iPad I would recommend considering using the app iMove. While there aren’t as many video editing options as Filmora, iMovie offers an effective program the produces very nice videos while remaining user-friendly and cost-free.

 

Over the duration of this course, we went over many topics. We talked about the importance of participatory culture and what it means to be a participatory citizen. The problematic issues of public shaming and sextortion were brought forth. It was from this that I learned that we must deal with online altercations with the utmost care, kindness, compassion, and empathy towards others. For myself personally, I took away many learning experiences in regards to digital citizenship. Not only does digital citizenship include topics like safety, security, having a balance when it comes to screen time, cyberbullying, sexting, copyright, plagiarism, access, and etiquette but also means speaking out against the injustices of the world. One of the bigger takeaways I have from this course is that individuals (especially teachers) should not remain silent out of fear of being ridiculed for not remaining neutral, we must speak up.

Overall, I am quite happy with how I’ve progressed through this course. Here is my ECMP355 Summary of Learning (I apologize for my singing voice in advance):

2 thoughts on “Summary of Learning

    1. Thank you for all of your wonderful support Tanya. Signing is for sure not what I would consider one of my strong points. Interacting with you over this course has been a pleasure. Keep up the great work, kindness, and support you give to others Tanya:)

      Like

Leave a Reply

