Time, Paint & a Lake

For the past week, I have been tackling one of the most time-consuming paintings I have ever done. Even though it is only one painting it took me three sittings (each for approximately three hours) to complete this painting. This past week’s landscape was a campfire/cabin by the lake. This landscape enabled me to practice what I have learned about in previous weeks (i.e. clouds and trees) but in a different context.

This week I chose to learn from Chuck Black: Wildlife and Art. His YouTube channel features a number of different videos ranging from what you need to paint, time-lapses, and painting tutorials. This past week I chose to learn from one of his time-lapses and while his painting skills are phenomenal I think I would have to try a different video, maybe one of his painting tutorials, next time as there was a visual of what he was doing but no audio or direction to learn from otherwise. Here is the video of what I learned from this past week:

Along with the painting this week I tried to document my learning in another form. My own time-lapse! However, this did not go as planned 😦 I chose the app Quick Lapse HD to perform my lapse. I downloaded the app and set it all up (very easy to do so- the app guides you through it), setup painting supplies, pressed the play button and started painting. Little did I know that unless you buy the upgraded version that you only could record a time-lapse for 20 seconds… I found this out after I was three hours into painting… whoops! Oh well, I learned for next time!

As I mentioned earlier, I had to break my painting sessions up into three. At the end of each session, I took a photo. Day one was mostly laying the groundwork for the painting. Which actually takes longer than it looks. Here is my progress after day one:

As I mentioned earlier, I had to break my painting sessions up into three. At the end of each session, I took a photo. Day one was mostly laying the groundwork for the painting. Which actually takes longer than it looks. Here is my progress after day one:

 

Day two began and the painting slowly started to become more intricate. This session was more so about adding to the water by blending as well as defining the trees and cabin. Here’s my progress after day two:

 

 

And last but not least, the final day! After nine hours of work, this painting is complete! And for the most part, I’m pretty happy with it. If I were to paint it again I would add something more to the right side of the painting. Only because I feel the left side is busy and full and in comparison, the right side looks bare. Maybe some trees/rocks/land to the right side just above the water line would make it look more full. Anyways here is my completed painting for this week’s post!

 

6 thoughts on “Time, Paint & a Lake

  1. This is awesome — great work. It’s so interesting how we are both doing painting, but that our pieces are so completely different. Together, we really highlight the different styles of painting. Can’t wait to see your next piece!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Jordan! You are right there are so many different styles of painting abstract, surrealism, conceptual, pop art etc. it is important not to generalize painting into one group. Each style is very distinctive as has their own perspectives to offer.

      Like

  2. Pingback: And That’s a Wrap! – Kaytlyn Placatka

Leave a Reply

