The Start to a Journey in ECMP 355

The statement, “who you are” is a daunting one. If your anything like me you probably look at it and think something like, “I’m not sure” or “I know what I like to do” or “I know what my beliefs and values are”.  All of those thoughts end with the question, “do these traits make me who I am” . The truth is, I don’t really know. I think that that is something we all have to figure out on our own. Who we all are as a person is ever changing , or at least I am.

So who am I? Right now I am Kaytlyn. I am 20 years old, going to university to be a teacher, and working for a provincial park. I like art, nature, sports, and LEARNING. I believe that everyone should have the right to be treated equally regardless of socioeconomic class, gender, race, age, etc. I believe that everyone should be entitled to education, which we know everyone isn’t (even in Canada- take Shannen Koostachin for example).  I believe that everyone should have access to medical care, again which we know isn’t true for everyone (People in Canada included- take Jordan’s Principal for example).  I believe in a lot of things. However, I think the trend is clear. I am an advocate for social justice, as to what I am doing about that I am still unsure. For right now I am doing ALOT of reading and starting to share some of my knowledge – we’ll see where that takes me.

As to how I feel about blogging… this is still new to me. I started my eportfolio about two years ago. I think I’m starting to get the hang of it but I know there is still lots to learn. I believe that blogging (or rather sharing what you know in any technological format) is important because it is a tool to use to connect with people from around the world. How crazy is that? In the past five years or so I have begun to expand in regards to my knowledge of the educational technology realm. The big jump start for me started in my Ed. courses within the University of Regina’s Pre-K- Five Program. Throughout my time not only in this course, but also through my teaching career I hope to continue learning about educational technology and I think here is a pretty good place to start!


TheBetterDay Flickr via Compfight cc

8 thoughts on “The Start to a Journey in ECMP 355

    1. Tanya, I just wanted to say that you have a wonderful blog/eportfolio, thanks for the link. As to your question, while I do not believe that who we are defines our action/inaction and feeling towards social justice I do believe that it plays a major role. Every individual values different things, those values (or belief systems) influence their decisions everyday; to make the choice to speak up or the choice keep quite. Everyone is different, and that is okay 🙂

      Like

  1. Thank you for your concern Tanya, however, my comment moderations are off. When someone comments and in their comment they include more than one link then I have it the comment moderation set for the comment to have to be approved. This is an extra step to avoid spam, as often spam comments include more than one link. I have approved your comment with the two links 🙂 Thank you for all of your feedback on my blog. I sincerely appreciate the opportunity to collaborate with you.

    Like

  2. Tanya, as to the second YouTube video link you shared with me I definitely agree with you that it is disturbing. By sharing the world injustices with our students we are enabling them with the choices that new knowledge brings. I suppose my answer to your question would be that The way in which we teach our students (and the information we bring to their attention) can open up our students to the injustices of the world if done right. Teaching about the injustices of the world provides the student with the context needed to take the next step to become a justice-oriented citizen where students take actions. Simply teaching about injustices and not having students address them does not fix the situation. What are your thoughts?

    Like

Leave a Reply

