A Single Story

Reading Response Nine

Thankfully, because of where I grew up, throughout my own schooling there were usually two stories present. The first is from an Indigenous perspective and second is the “white man’s” story. I think that the truth, which lies behind both of these stories, matter. Why else would they be present within the classroom? I am thankful that growing up I was able to receive both these stories. However, that is still not enough. There should be more stories and more perspectives because without them, we are limited. Without these stories we unconsciously form  false preconceived notions, such as in the way as it did with the roommate in Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie’s TEDX Talk. In the end, ALL stories matter. The truth matters.

We are all limited by the biases and perspectives that we have. I bring the biases and perspectives to the classroom of a privileged white woman. But this does not define me or who I am. My experiences, for instance growing up in the community that I did, has shaped me and will continue to shape who I am both as an educator and a person. Kumashiro’s seventh chapter of Against Common Sense he enforces that we unlearn and work against our own unconscious biases by exposing ourselves to a wider range experiences and having an open mind. By immersing ourselves into texts that have multiple stories, or reading many single stories, we being to think critically. We begin to challenge or biases, our lenses, and our thoughts; and this is exactly what we must do with our students. We must break down the barriers and enhance their learning, not limit them to a single story, to a single perspective, bias, or lens.

Here is one example:

Thanks for reading, and I hope you enjoyed this weeks post!

2 thoughts on “A Single Story

  1. I agree that what we did learn in school had some truths to the story’s, but they need to show and challenge students multiple storys of people. I think teaching students only one or two sides of the story’s is bad as it may set them up for a life long disadvantage in how they view the world around them.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Contributing to the Learning of Others – Brad Slepicka

Leave a Reply

